I Forge Iron

making a railroad anvil, how should I go about it?

Hi everyone

I have very little expericence blacksmithing so I am a complete newbie. I got a 2 foot long piece of railroad tie and I want to make an anvil out of it. If anyone has any knowledge on making railroad anvils, tips would be greatly apprecieted.

Thanks!

In my neck of the woods, rr ties are made from treated wood, and thus are not a candidate for anvil use, what with the burning and all. RR rail would work a lot better, and there are lots of threads here to read. Pack a lunch and a beverage and dive in.

Steve

I would also recommend making provisions so you can mount your "anvil" vertical as well as horizontal.
If you carve the back feet in to a small double horn bick then you have a bick and a post anvil, as well as a sudo London pattern anvil.

Now as Glenn is want to remind us, we payed for all or it use it all, i might suggest making provisions to also flip i flange up as well, as it makes a nice cutting table.

Post a picture of the rail. If it's not to radioused ontop you can grind it flat and roll the edges off a bit if it's pretty round you can stand it up and use the edges but have limited surface . You could also flip it rail side down and use the base for the flat surface. I started with a rail anvil not hardened but it was plenty hard to start with. Some marks in it but nothin an angle grinder can't smooth out. You can cut a horn in it with cut off wheels or a oxy acetelyn torch or have a machine shop ruff it out for relatively cheap and just grind it out to a nice shape depending on what tools you have. If you use cut off wheels it will take some time and quite a few discs but it is possible. I would bolt it to a stump and start hammering away for the time being though.

As a relatively new smith myself enjoy your new addiction.