I Forge Iron

Progress On My New 12'x16' Shop / Pole Barn

Hey Guys,

In the better interest of procuring a little more comfortable working quarters, I decided to start spending some of my "fun money" on materials to build a little 12'x16" pole barn to get some shelter over my setup.  I've been blacksmithing for a few years (maybe 2.5 or so), and living with Oklahoma weather, I was definitely interested in investing in something that would make it more practical to work when I want, regardless of weather.

So, having a few days off from work for the Christmas/New Year holidays, I decided to spend some time with my dad building this barn.  I live on some family land a little north of Tulsa, OK, and my dad is an experienced barn builder who loves projects like these.  We've been having a great time building this shop so far!

nhdzElq.jpg

This is a picture of the spot that I began building my pole barn on.  For the last year, it has pretty much just been home to a few broken down riding lawn mowers and a car that I haven't driven in a couple of years.  I took this picture a few minutes after I started scraping the grass off the "pad", then I remembered to take a picture.

cVvZHmr.jpg

The slope that I'm building on is a little steeper than ideal, but I did the best I could with the equipment I have available (CAT 304.5 mini excavator).  What I couldn't fix, would be addressed with the limestone cuttings (we usually refer to them as "tailings") to level the floor. I went ahead and staked off a 12'x16' shape, although it has actually been used more as a guide to keep the building square.  So far so good.

OMpuQxe.jpg

Started digging post holes with a digging bar and post hole diggers. There is something to be said for the relaxation that is found in manually digging post holes.  I did a lot of this after work at night.

oW4X7IY.jpg

Having a work light (and close enough proximity to electric with a 50' extension cord) was helpful.

9BFVJ09.jpg