I Forge Iron

Fixing an ancient pair of tongs

SpankySmith

I snagged a couple old pairs of tongs last weekend after digging through piles and piles of stuff a roadside antique shop didn't even know they had.  One of the sets is a very nice, very long pair that unfortunately has an extremely loose rivet.   I'm comfortable (once I get my anvil!  newbie) fashioning a new rivet for it, but I'm not clear on the best way to remove the old one?   I'm new to blacksmithing but VERY comfortable with tools and have a wide range of them.   How would you suggest I handle this?   Apologies for no photo, but I think tongs are pretty standard fare (and also I'm on a break at work as I post this....shhhhhhh.... don't tell anyone!)   :D

Does the rivet just need to be tightened? If so a tap or so with your hammer ought to do it. If it's crooked and really needs removing is it loose enough to slip a hacksaw blade in without risk of marring the reins or boss? If so that may work. Otherwise you could use a dremel or file and remove one of the rivet heads. It'll have to be your judgement call as to what will work best but there are options. There is also the option of chiseling the rivet off.

It's loose enough to easily get my reciprocating saw with a metal blade in there, which was my first thought.   Just tapping to tighten won't do it.  I didn't know if there was a way to heat it and get it off any easier than just cutting it out.   Or if there was some way to heat it in place and beat down the rivet head to tighten it up, but not sure how to do that without potentially damaging the rest of it.    

I have a personal extreme distaste for hacksaws, my least favorite tool in the shop, especially since the advent of small power tools!   I'll stick her in a clamp and try the reciprocating first, there is literally that much wiggle room in the rivet.   

Heating and adjusting the bits of tongs is a standard blacksmith practice.