I Forge Iron

Items to make as a test of ones skills

Given all the daft questions I ask in here this might be presumptuous but what would be a good item to make to test ones skills?

I've been smithing for nearly 6 years now and I'd like to start really pushing my limits. As much as I enjoy making pokers and such like, these aren't forcing me to improve.

The truth of it is that I'd like to go professional and I still don't feel confident enough to do that.

Andy

How about producing some nice scrolls of different types without the use of a jig and setting them all with collars? Maybe make a nice gate or something along that sort of lines.

Or take a walk about and find something forged and see if you can reproduce it?

post-30666-0-79812000-1369347356_thumb.jpost-30666-0-72780000-1369347388_thumb.jpost-30666-0-00703900-1369347472_thumb.jGreetings Mac,

You ask for it.. Make this with only 1 piece of 1/2 x1/2 stock 24 in long without any forge welding of any kind or welding .  No breaks and only one rivet..   Except for 1 small copper drip pan and a match.

You ask for a challenge      Jim

attachicon.gifcandle 3.jpgattachicon.gifcandle 4.jpgattachicon.gifcandle 2.jpgGreetings Mac,

You ask for it.. Make this with only 1 piece of 1/2 x1/2 stock 24 in long without any forge welding of any kind or welding .  No breaks and only one rivet..   Except for 1 small copper drip pan and a match.

Can you give us a pic from/of the underside please?

And shots without the candle or drip pan?

even though you make lots of pokers, they can be as tricky and fancy as your mind can conjour!  Look at the animal heads, baskets, etc I use them  (and coat hooks) to practice elements like that rather than cock up on a  larger job, yet stillgie me somethign that (if it comes out ok) can still be sold