I Forge Iron

Bowl making tools

Joel OF

Hi folks, I'm a novice with a desire to make bowls, I know there's no substitute for good technique but I was wondering if there's any particular tools that could make my life easier? I've been doing some browsing on the Vaughns website for tools that might help, could anyone shed any light on how suitable hide, wood or bossing hammers would be? Also, could a leather sandbag be useful? Can they be used with heated metal? At the minute I just have an anvil and metal hammers, I'm aware that some swage blocks have bowl shapes but I don't think I can even afford a second hand one.

The two things that give me the most grief at the minute are the way the sheet steel moves around on the anvil and the loud clanging noise as it bounces. I spent quite a lot of money at Christmas with a local woodturner who makes bowls, I saw him again the other day and asked him if he could indent a bowl shape into a hunk of wood for me to use as an "anvil" as I imagine the wood would cushion the bounce a bit more, he said he could and he's do it for free! Could this be useful? I'd imagine I'd need to treat the wood somehow to stop it burning, or another idea I had was to get some very thin sheet and hammer than cold into the bowl and then nail it down around the sides so the wood is protected a little.

Any help would be appreciated. Cheers

You either raise or sink or perhaps a combination of the two. Raising is done over stakes. Bowls could be best done over dome and ball stakes. For a circular bowl, you'd be hammering in concentric circles while turning the metal. Steel can be done hot or cold, but if cold, occasionally annealing is in order. Sinking can be done in a sandbag cold. Another route is to sink into a steel ring, the ring made of heavy round-section stock. When sinking, the metal thins a little more than when raising. Finishing a bowl is often done by careful hammering over stakes, called planishing.