I Forge Iron

Redneck Anvil

I just saw this "redneck" anvil for sale for dirt cheap and I was wondering if it would be worth the effort at all. I am just getting into forging knives and I know that this would not be the anvil of my dreams but if I could snag it for around 20 bucks do you guys think it would get me by until I saved up enough money to buy the real deal? It looks like its an I beam that was cut and welded onto a stand. It has obviously gotten some use so it should be good for something right?

post-24536-0-34952700-1330830368_thumb.j

I disagree. It's a crappy anvil, don't get me wrong. But for $20, it beats hammering on your work bench. Can you get it for $15?

If you buy it, and keep smithing, find a real anvil, and move forward, it will be the best $20 you ever spent. You will win every "my first anvil was worse than yours" contest.

But seriously. For $20, buy it. Don't think for a moment it will be satisfying, but at that price, when you find another anvil, you will feel like you can cut up the remnants to use in other projects, and feel like its money well spent.

And, you'll know why anvils are shaped the way they are.

It will be very loud and not very efficient---too much "bounce" engineered in. Will using it cause your neighbors to gather with pitchforks and torches and drive you from the village?

but for 20 bucks it is worth it just to make a postvice stand from it later...

• 4 weeks later...

For 20 it's a good starter. That being said some day I'll put a pic on here of a real redneck anvil. If it wasn't so funny and worked so well it would be embarrasing. Take a little ball pein hammer and give that anvil a little tap with the pein. This will give you an idea of how hard it is. If that hammer has good rebound it will move metal better. I have a bad case of tennis elbow from a "dead" anvil. Don't try to hit the work too hard, that is a mistake I had to learn the hard way. Dead anvil + 4lb hammer + going Thor on the metal = OUCH!