I Forge Iron

Pedal or Fingertip Control?

I was a tig welder for quite a few years specializing in alum and stainless. Always used foot pedal but for some pipe work in the field a hand control is the only thing you can use. There are a few different designs of them so if you do go that route try them all first before buying. I think though for almost all work done in a shop foot control is the only way to go.
Rob

The other man's grass is always greener,or you always want what you don't have.
My TIG is an old one with a shunt transformer and no foot control. It does me fine.I always want more control coming to the end of a weld on ali,a bit hard with a simple on/off, but, I don't do enough to warrant buying a new one.

Thats it exactly. In the shop, especialy bench work, the foot petal is the best.
In the feild, you can't beat a finger switch. Ladders, stairs, awkward positions etc. Using a foot petal in the feild, I have had to use my knee, my butt, or the worst of all, have someone else run the petal. Given only one choice, I would use a finger switch.

You will need to know your machine and how to use it. You can use the foot pedal as an on-off switch if you set the max power on the machine to your welding power. Then all you do in an odd position is stomp the pedal to the floor and if lucky you can back off at the end. That way the arc wont start untill you want it to. Not to be done regularly but you should know how. Also handy sometimes to use the foot pedal with stick rod but again not often. As arftist says fingertip for the field is best but you also should be able to weld without a pedal or fingrtip control. Set machine to welding amperage and weld, like dave e does. That is how to weld thinwall stainless tube with purge gas inside so the weld looks the same on the inside as outside, no filler rod either. You must know how to do all of the above. hope this helps.
Rob

Thanks for the comments all.