I Forge Iron

Newbie Question about forging nails.

Greetings,

I am a newbie to blacksmithing and so I thought that I would start by making a bunch of nails to learn hammer control. I took a 1/4" inch rod and I have a 3/16th nail header that I fashioned by drilling a hole in 1/2" plate, expanding it with a cone shapped piece of steel and welding on a handle. I started working on the taper and I am getting better at that with some frustrations. First of all I am using a propane forge for my work so that might be of interest.

Questions:

1) When trying to taper the round rod, It keeps spinning in my holding hand. I have a hard time holding it, especially when it is curved slightly from working the rod. One thing I have noticed is that I shouldnt hold it so tight against the anvil but are there any other tips? I suppose I need to really square the rod before trying to taper but that still wont change the spin as it was happening with the 3/8ths square that I had as well.

2) While tapering, occasionally the metal will splinter when I get down thin. Why is that and how can I avoid it?

3) I am heating to yellow and when I pull the rod out it seems like I only have about 10 to 20 seconds max of time to hit. If I try to brush there is no way I could do more. Is this normal because the rod and nails are so thin that they cool so fast?