I Forge Iron

What's in a name

Another one for all you Master debaters...

I have had discussions with a friend of mine about what to call the place I work out of, shop or studio.

Seeing how I graduated from art school when I first started I called my place a studio, I learned real fast down here it was called a shop, and was teased a bit for being a little pretentious.

My sculptor friend has put it into class by, work supports the shop or the studio supports the work.

I am still unsure where I stand since my work supports my shop in which supports my artwork.

Maybe I should call it a shudio or a stop?

Really? A guy with your ability and reputation could call it his winky hole and everyone would smile and nod. But really a studio is where you think, design refine and explore and create. A shop is where you build those things. If it's one space I vote shop. I think blacksmiths have shops. If you want to be an artist I guess studio is the accepted lingo but either way I don't think what you choose will have any impact on how you are viewed. A rose by any other name my friend. Would smell just as sweet

I've always called my shop a shop, but sad to say, YD's right - Heaven knows that along with the actual work that comes out of our efforts, we also have to sell the "mood" of the whole art mystique so that the client can have a vicarious creative experience.

Really? A guy with your ability and reputation could call it his winky hole and everyone would smile and nod. But really a studio is where you think, design refine and explore and create. A shop is where you build those things. If it's one space I vote shop. I think blacksmiths have shops. If you want to be an artist I guess studio is the accepted lingo but either way I don't think what you choose will have any impact on how you are viewed. A rose by any other name my friend. Would smell just as sweet

Now I`ve REALLY got a problem!