I Forge Iron

Hammer Question

I'm an apprentice bladesmith. One hammer I LOVE is my Caffrey angle pien. It allows you to draw out your bevels with your arms in a normal position. Ed Caffrey makes a real nice one. Blacksmith Depot has some too. Also, a doghead, also known as Japanese cutler hammer....
I started at a Bladesmiths shop, I tried many of his to find what I Liked.
For bladestock, try starting with 1/4" thick for forging...
Have fun!

Well can you tell me how much weight *I* can lift? If you can maybe I can tell you how much hammer you can swing.

Let me say this though. Don't try to over amp your arm with too heavy a hammer to start. It's pretty easy to mess up the tendons and be out of smithing for a long while or permanently! "Blacksmith's elbow" is a pain!

As mentioned a bit over 2 pounds is generally a good weight to start with and then work your way up to a bigger one as you get in practice.

Nowadays I tend to start with one like that, switch to a 3.3 pound once I'm warmed up and then cool off with the lighter one as I get tired.

Getting one with a nicely dressed face is probably more important than if it's round, square, octagonal, etc.

I started out with the first one I found at a fleamarket in good shape cheap---about a 2.5# doublejack. Used it for years till I started wanting a heavier one and got the 1500 gm swedish crosspein and now also use a light fast hammer for some jobs.

(Insert rant on why RR spikes make lousy knives and why would one want to use them when track clips have sometimes twice the carbon content of a HC spike!)

Welcome aboard Travis, glad to have ya. Get involved with the local blacksmithing organization, a couple hours with an experienced smith is worth days, weeks, sometimes months or years of teaching yourself.

A good turning hammer is good and effective as a general smithing hammer and I prefer a straight pein to a cross pein but that's a matter of taste.