I Forge Iron

First attemps at smithing.

Tried smithing for the first time a couple of weeks ago, using a tiny homemade forge (if you could call it that).

As yet I dont have any propper smithing tools, and my 'forge' can only heat about an inch at a time. (the spike hook, with the motice and tennon joint probably took over two hours to acheive)

Would be happy to recieve any comments or suggestions, and ideas for what to try next?

Hopefully there is picture here, still getting used to the forum.

100_3935.jpg

Btw, all the hooks and the buckle were made from rebar, so had to be drawn out and sqaured off first to get rid of the pattern, time consuming.

Edited by steve sells
edit url

good job! My "first trys" didn't look that good.
Suggestion: Could just be the picture but it looks like you're using some hefty stock. If so back off a little on the size of your steel. 3/8ths" and 1/4" is my recomendation! I've been forging for 2+ years and I rarely use anything over 3/8ths. It's a lot easier to work with in my opinion! Of course if any size steel is not readly avaliable than keep using what you're using now! You obveously now how to work with those sizes well! Keep it up!

Nice work Bob and a great start. I would second FieryFurnaces suggestion of smaller stock. I have only been doing this for about 6 months and right off the bat I wanted to start doing all of these different things with all different size stock. One day I took a step back and using 1/4" round made about 60 s hooks one after the other. I think I learned more that day about color temp., using the face, using the horn, far side bending, using a hot cut, selective quenching then if I had continued down my path. I think you have some real natural ability that shows in your work and by practicing the fundamentals it really helps when you then come up with that next idea for what you want to make.