I Forge Iron

auto dark welding helmets

JAllcorn

I could not get the arc struck in the right spot with a conventional helmet. I just could not make a decent weld. Then I got an auto dark helmet at HF. I still can't make a decent weld but am no long in danger of going blind! I went to a flux-core wire welder and it does what I need to do. A bit messy but I can put the bead where I want it.

I am a hobby welder and have considered getting an economy auto darkening helmet from Norther Tool. I have been concerned about safety though. I know that my fixed shade helmet works if I have it lowered, I am not sure about how to interpret the switching speed numbers, like what is too slow. The article had some information but not quite enough for me.

I bought a cheapy auto dark from HF and it worked fine but you couldnt adjust the shade which is a serious disadvantage and it never fit right. Welding is a delicate tricky business and fighting a helmet that is sliding out of position doesnt help. I gave it away and bought a Lincoln from Lowe's for $100 which is much better. Sometime I would like to upgrade to a better one from Miller or similar.

The undarkened shade on the lens is about a #3 this is enough to protect your eyes from the UV in ordinairy cases unless you are welding with 1/4" rod and larger. The extra darkening that is triggered is for "comfort" the mfrs say. They mean so that you can see the weld thru the glare. These helmets are designed so that even if the electronics fails completely, you will not be injured. Consider the fact that companies like Lincoln are perpetually being sued by welders for injury by their products. They wouldnt sell these helmets if they didnt give failsafe protection.