I Forge Iron

Advice on buying a forge

OlavFairhair

Hello guys, I'm new here. I'm a beginner blacksmith from Norway. I have built my own first forge, but I'm now considering buying a forge. Unfortunately there are limited options for me where I live. A little back story on why I want to buy a new forge.

My current forge is based on isolating bricks. It has a steel shell with 1" of ceramic fiber, followed by isolating bricks. I also use a high-alumina brick as the forge floor. I use a Devil Forge burner (the 80 000 BTU one). Once it's properly heated up, it works fine in my estimation. Mind you, I'm a beginner but it heats steel up to yellow fairly quick. The thing is, it takes forever to warm up. It's probably at least 45 minutes until it's hot. And that's a problem because I have a fulltime job, and this is a hobby so I only really have a couple hours after work and on Saturdays. Maybe I'm using too low of a pressure, but I don't think so because the burner is running fine. I don't use a pressure gauge.

The other problem is I have a lot of dragon's breath. Most of the time it's blue. I've tried reducing the pressure or open the choke to no avail. Nothing I have tried makes any difference, so I'm guessing it's something with my design. I do have a CO monitor just to be sure. I included some photos of my forge and its dragon breath. I also end up having quite a "scaly" surface even with frequent wire brushing. So I'm confused because I thought scaly steel is a result of oxidizing flame, while blue flame is a rich flame. It's internal measurements are 4.5" wide, by 3.1" high, by 11.8" long.