I Forge Iron

Problem with Side Blast Forge

Hannah330

I’m new to using a side blast forge. I recently bought this a month ago just now trying to get it started. I have sand at the bottom about 4 inches. On top I filled with coke. When trying to start a fire I make a hole 3 inches away from air flow. I use my gas forge to heat up the coke and put it inside the hole and slowly add air. I have no luck. I’ve tried kindling wood and cardboard. I’m used to using a forge with a pot and air from the bottom. Any help would be appreciated. 

You need the blast to be right up to the fuel on one side and the bottom of the fuel needs to be about an inch below the bottom of the tuyere. Once you start your wood/charcoal fire you need to rake the coke back over the hot coals. Many use a wad of paper. Dig your hole, light the paper and give it a little air, rake the fuel over it and increase the blast until the coal/coke start and then go full blast. Coke and hard coal need constant air or they will go out in just a few minuets. Soft coal will go out in about 1/2 an hour. 

Welcome from the Ozark mountains.

The coke you are using is it from your bottom blast forge using bituminous coal or is it commercial coke. A picture or two may help and if you put your general location in your profile, you may be surprised how many members are near enough to visit and lend a hand. If you are in NW Arkansas you could stop by our BOA meeting in Gentry Saturday the 10th.

I wouldn’t be too worried about adding more sand. Over time fly ash will build up and you’ll ever have to start removing it. With coke, you only have to worry about the coke that’s in the air blast burning. Just pile the coke up. If you were burning charcoal, it would be another story all together. 

As others have said, get a hot fire of kindling, cardboard, newspaper, etc. right where the fire ball needs to be with coke around it. Once it’s good a hot throw you coke on top. 

(Irondragon, I like the new avatar.)

David