I Forge Iron

Helmet

Malenmetal

Hi, this is my first attempt at a helmet it's based on a mandalorian helmet from star wars. I know it's rough, nothings straight, needs planishing and some welding. I've done a little copper work not much besides flowers and a little "repousse", so advice is appreciated. I started tig welding the cuts,using oxy brazing rods, but I ran out of argon and then tried to use 72 25 but that was a mistake,lol. So my man question is how can I flare the neck part of the helmet. Any help appreciated.

20220615_204457.jpg

20220615_204445.jpg

20220615_204432.jpg

20220615_204425.jpg

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.

I think that this has been a BOMTICC (Bit Off More Than I Can Chew) project for you.  One of the thing you have to earn about armor making is that things have to be shaped and assembled in a certain way because once assembled it can be tough to impossible to do the necessary forming operations.  For example, the crown should be fully formed, planished, and smoothed prior to attaching it to the brow piece or the fore and aft piece that goes over the top.  Now, you will need a very long stake to be able to smoth out the crown pieces.

The sides should have had their bottoms flared prior to assembly.  You may be able to do it now by placing the bottom endge over the horn of an anvil or other round object and tapping it from the inside.  If the material were steel this is something best done hot because you are stretching the metal in the flare.  Since it appears that you are using copper you may be able to do it cold if you anneal the metal to get it as sort as possible.  If you don't already know, you anneal copper, brass, or bronze by heating it and then quenching it in water.  It is the opposite of what happens with high carbon steel where quenching hardens the metal.