I Forge Iron

Wondering what to look for

Hi guys

I'm planning on going for a drive tomorrow hitting some garage sales and flea markets. Just wondering what are some of the things I should look for to practice on. I'm thinking old tools is the main thing to look for and don't know what else that might work. I'm still new to this so I'm looking for cheap metal to practice on.

Any ideas would be helpful 

Flea markets haven’t been good sources of forging stock, in my experience. However, I’ve gotten some deals on old tools, especially hammers and hammer heads, chisels, punches, and files. Remember that most tools can be reforged, so look for “the tool inside the tool”. Most flea market tongs I’ve found to be overpriced and in lousy shape, but you occasionally get lucky. Don’t spend a penny more than you have to, and always be prepared to walk away if you don’t find what you want at a good price. 

Depends a lot on what you want to do or make.  Besides forging stock which JHCC covered pretty well, I look out for anything, tool or shopwise that may be of value in the future.  If it's a flea market I make a pass through and may buy some things but come back before it's over and look for the ones packing up to go home.  A lot of them will drag stuff to the market over and over and will give you a good deal just so they don't have to haul it home yet again.  

Good haul.  If you decide to use the wrenches for forging (e.g. bottle openers) make sure you remove any chrome plating in an acid bath before gettting it hot.  Heavy metal poisoning is not something you want to mess around with.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand.

Ball peen hammer heads; they sell cheaper without a handle and since we are going to put them in a forge.  Most of those look like "using tools? rather than "to be reforged tools".  I did see a couple of adjustable wrenches for twisting hot steel. HSS drill bits are not worth the hassle of forging HSS steel.