I Forge Iron

Tips on Using a 1x30 Belt Sander for Knife Making

I'm a young hobbyist bladesmith and am unable to afford a decent 2x72 belt sander, so right now I am forced to use a small 1x30 belt sander or angle grinder. I was wondering if anyone would have any tips on using these machines to grind bevels or finish blades? I am also new to this forum so I apologize if this is posted in the wrong place, feel free to correct me if that is the case.

Welcome aboard Nateglider, glad to have you. 

Check out the section suggested by Steve, it covers everything you'll need to get started. To clarify a little here, there's a difference between a "good selection" to an experienced bladesmith and a newbie. Being a newcomer to the craft you don't know what a good selection is so it's normal to buy every darned grit size and type just to make sure. 

Steve's a great guy though not the wordsmith some of us are so he can sound gruff. What he's doing is telling you where to find out what you need so you WON'T buy every size and type belt made for a 1x30 belt grinder. 

The lessons will walk you through each step and up your chances of making a successful first knife from possible to very probable. Doing some reading will give you a handle on the jargon. Like any craft it has a language of it's own that lets practitioners talk and know what each other means without having to explain everything. You'll be able to ask good questions and understand the answers without driving everybody nuts. Yourself included. ;)

Frosty The Lucky.

I've used a 1x42 belt grinder for years.  Smaller grinders work OK but are slower than the big boys.  I hope a 2x72 is in my future soon.

Use a coarse grit (80 or less) to shape your blade and then use finer grits to remove the grinding marks of the previous grit.  If you want to go finer than 400 or 600 you can use a cloth wheel with different types of buffing compound depending on your metal and how shiny you want it to be.