I Forge Iron

Beginner Gas forge Build

HUTT SMITH

Hey guys, im just starting out in smithing and currently working on the design for my first gas forge....the outside shell is lasercut and formed out of 12g mild steel and im using 1.25 firebrick as a liner for top bottom and sides....the inside diameters for the forge are 13.5LX6.5WX4.5D......Will i need more then one burner to get the forge up to welding temp?

1 hour ago, ThomasPowers said:

Would those be the hard firebricks and what kind and what size burner will you be using?  I've seen gas burners you could drop your forge in and read of others using hypodermic needles for the orifice.

I plan on using a .035 or .045 mig tip for the burner nozzle

I had a look at the site you started from; being kind, I will just say that their conclusions are...dead wrong. The burner design they started from is, still being kind...an utterly outdated weak burner design. It is hardly surprising that their conclusions are skewed. Others can argue with  their 'facts.' The Burners 101 and Forges 101 threads lay out the truth, as best I can see it; read them, or don't. Their jumble of misinformation just makes me feel tired.

So which burner design would work best for the forge size i described..keep in mind that i am compleatly new at this and am utterly depended on information i find in books and recive from experianced smithes ..so any advise will be helpfull and appreciated

if i used two of the T-burners whos building instructutions are posted on this forum...would that be an efficiant design for the forge specs i mentioned? Please keep in mind that im trying to keep the building costs as low as possible and that includes how much gas the forge will use so it needs to be as efficiant as possible