I Forge Iron

I've got a problem with hardening 4140

I am relatively new to blacksmithing but have gotten far enough to know when something is not getting hard. I use Canola oil as my quenching medium & have succesfully hardend two chisles, & two punches from old coilspring. But I have recently purchased some 4140 & have made some more tools out of it but it seems unable to harden. If anyone has any suggestions I will accept them gratefully.

I'm guessing A.) your canola oil is too slow of a quench as it stands and/or B.) you aren't bringing it up to austenitic temperature.. Did it harden at all?

Are you preheating the oil prior to quenching or is it starting at room temperature?

Also, what did you make that you are you trying to harden?

I was going to recommend that, but if it's a relatively thin cross section it can crack when quenched in water. If it's something larger (like a hammer) you might need the faster quench medium in order to get the desired hardness.

Welcome to IFI, Cattonkj! If you add your location to your profile settings, you might be able to connect with a local member who can give you some in-person help.

According to the Heat Treater's Guide*, 4140 should be austenitized to 855°C/1570°F and quenched in oil.

*available as a free app from the Heat Treating Society of ASM International

1 hour ago, Frazer said:

I'm guessing A.) your canola oil is too slow of a quench as it stands and/or B.) you aren't bringing it up to austenitic temperature.. Did it harden at all?

Are you preheating the oil prior to quenching or is it starting at room temperature?

Also, what did you make that you are you trying to harden?

1 hour ago, BIGGUNDOCTOR said:

Try water, or brine  instead.  4140 is a tough alloy, not one that gets super hard.

Frazer, to answer your question, no the peice did not harden at all & the oil is starting at room temperature (about 67* F), & I am making a hot cut hardie.