I Forge Iron

To fill a hole in an anvil face?

I’m new to blacksmithing. I was recently given an anvil from a friend which was all painted and rusty. I cleaned it up with a wire wheel and found a small hole from what I’m guessing is a welder? It’s not a big deal I suppose but it will get in my way. Also it’s bothersome to look at. My question is do you suppose I could get away with filling it with a wire welder? That’s all I have. I do have a buddy who could stick weld it if that would be better? It’s such a small hole I feel like just a fast little fill would be ok. Thoughts? SW Michigan

hole on cutting table. Fill or leave?

C1F71D61-2F21-428C-A1E3-697EDA892159.thumb.jpeg.d13ced56f30d642ffab5fa3f91d83ec9.jpeg

hole on table that bothers me most. 

600D4BF7-9DBC-4D91-ACE5-F717BCA6683B.thumb.jpeg.ca43e972dbf0b5eea84571b42c7a858a.jpeg

45C1ADF0-686A-42FC-B3D6-647A78EBBBF7.jpeg

There is plenty of usable face on the anvil.  Leave the holes alone while you use the anvil for a year (2000 hours).  By then you will have time to find someone that is competent enough to properly repair anvils and decide if the anvil actually needs to be repaired.

While resting up after a hot day smithing you may want to do a browser search on: anvil repair site:iforgeiron.com     Using those terms on google chrome gave me 1410 hits *all* specific to iforgeiron.com.  Perhaps there might be one that is similar to your case.  (Note if the name Gunther is not involved I'd double check on the advisability of using what they suggest!)