I Forge Iron

Repairing a Peter Wright with a cracked face?

I have a Peter Wright that my guys grabbed from the scrap when it came in when I was a yard manager.  It had a crack in the face, no rebound along the waist, and a severe overhang on the sides.  I went to start addressing the problems and found the entire work face had busted free.  I still have it,  I am considering trying to repair it but that would be a lot of welding as about 8 inches of facing is gone completely.   I would hate to do it, the repairs are not beyond my welding skills but the cost and time may be.  My final thought, it is a cast wrought and I currently don't have any other wrought iron...

PW---pure WI with a steel face forge welded on. Early ones the face is forge welded on in sections and so you can sometimes see the weld seams going across the face. Later ones they got so they can weld the entire face on as one piece---less likely to lose a section of the face.

Why would you need Wrought iron if you are replacing the steel face?

A friend had an apx 200# anvil repaired because a machinist had milled the face and edges "pretty" for him making it too thin of a face to be used as an anvil.  He carried it around for a couple of decades and then took it to an anvil repair day we had out here and a professional welder, using industrial equipment, built the face back up to usability (and still "pretty").  As I recall after preheat it took him about 5 hours of sold work!  (Cost of having it done commercially would be $$$$$$$$!)

The Gunther-Schuler method of anvil repair is the gold standard;  but you need to find an anvil repair day or a welding class that might take it on as a project unless you have the skills and equipment or the $$$$ to have it done.