I Forge Iron

Need help with propane forge

Rylan

Hello everyone,

I have no idea if I am in the correct forum for this or not because this is my first time, but I picked what I thought was closest. I have recently built a 3 burner propane forge  8"X12"X24" long and I am having a bit of a problem. Long story short, I have diagnosed the problem and found out that the problem I am having is a build up of pressure inside where my burners are and no where for that pressure to go and in return I am not getting the Correct ionizing flame I need. Don't get me wrong, I am no expert by any means, the way I found this out is because if I blow through the forge with an air compressor, or even my mouth, I then start to get the correct flame I need. The only solution that I have came up with which might work or might not work, is to put a 90 degree flue on one end of the forge with an adjustment for the air to come in and go out. If anyone knows a solution for me other than completely rebuilding my burners, please let me know. Sorry for the not great pictures, I didn't know I would be posting this forum and am not available to take better pictures at the moment. Thank you all in advance.

Little more information, I am using half inch pipe until I get to top of burners, then it reduces to quarter inch. both top and bottom bell coupling is 1/2"x1.5" the nipples from top of burner to bottom of burner is 6 inches. Lastly, I am using a 30 psi regulator.

20201225_124347.jpg

20210101_111300.jpg

It isn't unusual for three burner in a row to have a back pressure  problem. You would be better off with two burners. Perhaps, either shorten the forge, or remove the middle burner, and replace the two end burners with larger ones, if needed to keep the heat level up? Replacing the middle burner with a more powerful one might do the trick.

DON'T USE IT LIKE THAT.

I'm no burner expert. Mikey is- one of the two most knowledgeable from my experience here.