I Forge Iron

New Propane Forge Idea

Valeas

Greetings,

This will be my first attempt at building a propane forge, so any constructive advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

I'm currently collecting materials for the build and I came across this steel pipe.

It's approximately 14" in diameter, and I'm planning to cut it 16" in length.

My question is, if I plan to put 3" of insulation around the interior, would this still be too big for a 2-burner setup?

IMG_20201122_150930410_HDR.jpg

IMG_20201122_150906175_HDR.jpg

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you'll have the chance to hook up with members living close enough to visit. You'll learn more faster in a couple hours with an experienced smith than in days trying to figure it out yourself. 

What are you planning on making? That'll make a mighty large forge, I've been doing this for 40+ years and need a forge that size so rarely, I make a quicky brick pile for the piece.

Frosty The Lucky.

Thank you for the warm welcome!

I was considering using a propane tank to build my forge but it seemed that this pipe had the same diameter, which is why I grabbed it.I could cut it and then rebend it to a smaller size if I need to. Mostly it's just steel to do with as I need, I'm not committed to that particular diameter.I just figured that 14 in minus 4 in of insulation would give me enough room to work with wider material, such as a double bit axe head. like I said I'm not married to this idea, I'm just trying to get a forge built, lol.

Edited by Mod30
Remove excessive quote.

If you include a hard refractory inner liner / flame face you're going to have a forge around 9" ID, you could put a double bit axe in cross ways and have room for a couple knives. Have you figured the volume of the lined forge? The finished volume is what determines how many and what size burners it will require.