I Forge Iron

Finally thought id do this...

Dewnmoutain

Been on this website now for a few months, and was cruising through here when i came across this section. I had seen it before and at the time thought "i'll get to that in a bit" and then forgot about it. until today...

So, The name's Adam, and I'm from Northeastern Wisconsin, near Green Bay. Been hammering for roughly 5 years, and pretty much self taught on everything. I have taken a couple of classes on blacksmithing, one where i learned how to make a bottle opener (which, to be honest, was kind of a let down, not because of what was taught, but because there was 5 people to an anvil, which made it difficult to really do anything), and the second from a professional blacksmith (who had a very full opinion about himself) in a weekend class.  I also took a damsacus bladesmithing class because i attempted pattern welding, and it failed horribly. 

I am an Army vet, and deployed to Iraq 08-09. (sucked. dont recommend the trip). As a result of that, i suffer from PTSD, which one of the side effects for me is limited mental capacity. I get frustrated when something that should be easy doesnt come together, or it takes a very long time for me to accomplish and looks like crap. (Like making leaves or spade points. Should be easy, but for reasons i still havent been able to figure out, the leaves look lop-sided. ) Another side effect is my people skills are not very good, which is fine when im alone in my shop, but interactions both in person and online leave something to be desired. (So i am giving everyone a preemptive 'Im Sorry' right now) 

I am trying to improve upon my craft. i know it's slow going for someone with my mental issues, but it is very frustrating, especially when i see someone who says "hey, i only started last month and look what i make" and it's something that i would eat my liver to be able to make.