I Forge Iron

Sharkbait's Projects Post

SharkBait

I figured since I'm a newbie and I'm really excited about everything and posting up a storm I should make a thread for my stuff and stop spamming the "what did you make in the shop today?" thread. 

I've been trying really hard to get my propane forge up and running, but while the enthusiasm and the research are there the money just isn't (sorry Glenn, I promise I do intend to complete that order sometime).

When we bought this house it had these two just truly awful sheds in the back yard. We refer to them as the Murder Sheds. They were both built on top of plywood stacks and in Wisconsin that's basically just a recipe for rot. I took down the plywood one this summer and am just now starting to pull the sheet metal off the other one. And I thought to myself "Hey, I could make a box out of some of this sheet metal. And the yard is basically made of dirt. What's stopping me?" 

So I've decided to make a JABOD forge until I can get the propane forge running. I banged out the box today, out of siding from the shed. It's not what I would call professional work, but it's probably good enough for me. As an added bonus, when I started pulling the front off the shed I realized I could probably leave it open-faced and use it as a space to forge in.

Bonus shot of the current progress on the propane forge. 

20200923_171547.jpg

20200923_171522.jpg

20200923_171624.jpg

Your shop shed looks like an excellent place to work. You need a window on the far side for cross draft, propane forges are CO making machines. Good call on dirt being a good place to play with HOT stuff. ;)

Frosty The Lucky.

My plan was to pull the whole front off and use it as an open-faced space.

10 hours ago, horse said:

that shed looks awesome. What am I missing?