I Forge Iron

Paint can forge not staying lit.

Hey, 

I'm new to smithing (literally not forged a single thing yet). I built a paint can forge today and when I put the burner in and lit it it keeps making an almost whooshing sound like it's about to go out, and eventually, it does go out. I bought the burner off etsy. Any help would be great. I've tried adjusting the angle at which it sits and the depth into the forge. The only thing I haven't tried is drilling a hole in the back of the forge to add more air flow. Pictures of my paint can forge and burner.

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. If you put your general location in the header you might discover members here who live within visiting distance. 

Hey yourself! Have you asked the guy who made the knock off T burner why it doesn't work? 

What did you line the forge with, sand and Plaster of Paris?  

Frosty The Lucky.

@Frosty I'm emailing the maker today, and it is sand and plaster of Paris. 

@ThomasPowers and @Irondragon Forge & Clay the flame seems to be mostly blue. I dont know that I have a pressure regulator. I just used a regular gas grill connector like several of the people had bundled with the burners they made on etsy. However, I bought mine separately to get a lower price point than etsy was offering. 

If this burner is too much for the forge, I can always find another with no harm done because I will be making a larger glass forge in the future. It's not staying lit even when it's not in the forge. 

you should read through our threads on building a forge,  FYI PoP and Sand is not recommended by anyone that actually uses gas forges. and you need a regulator, Sorry for starting you off with all the bad news but welcome to IFI we will help you get started

Yes the venturi burners require a high pressure regulator, 0-20 or 0-30 PSI to run correctly. They draw in air and mix it with propane driven by the high pressure jet of propane.  Many gas grill regulators run at 6 oz.