I Forge Iron

Help on a charcoal forge

Daniel95

Hi all,

I am a beginner smith. I have been at it for a couple months, and it has been kind of rough. First forge was from a pile of bricks, dirt, and a fan. I live in ND and I dont know if I can get coal, so I used charcoal. That worked ok, but not ideal. Next I spent $100 making a propane forge. It works, but it is inefficient. Propane forges are a little more complex than I thought. Anyway, I dont have the budget to fix that forge up. So I thought I would revert to charcoal. I can get . near infinite amount of wood for free and turn it to charcoal.

So my question is, what is the easiest and cheapest ($30 or less) way to make a decent charcoal forge? I want to focus a little more on smithing itself rather than trying to figure out forge building. Help would mean the world to me. 

I am a Newbie so please speak in laymans terms. Thanks very much, and God Bless!

-Daniel

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

What do you want to be forging?---Makes a difference in what forge would work best for you.

Cheapest is a hole in the ground, 1 piece of black iron pipe and an air source.  Not the easiest to use, especially for folks whose knees are old enough to drink 3 times over...

Have you read the MANY posts on JABOD forges?  Cheap, easy to build, able to be adjusted for differing items, etc?  Use a browser to search on:        jabod site:iforgeiron.com          and don't forget to break for eating and sleeping!

Looks like you have already learned the lesson that to get good results the first go you must fine a good set of plans for a propane forge and follow them EXACTLY!

Thanks very much! I am planning to forge trinkets out of steel (hooks, leaves, stuff to sell) and maybe one day some knives. I will read up on JABOD forges, that is a great idea. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. God Bless