I Forge Iron

mixed results heat treating 1045

Hello everyone!

So I've been blacksmithing for several years and have been following this and other forums equaly long but have never posted anything yet.

But now I have a question. I've been heat treating several hammers and axes lately and have not gotten the hardnes I wanted. The hammers are axeptable I think mid 40's HRC (still a bit on the soft side compared to my reference pieces of 1045 but doable) The axe (mordaxe with blade and poll) just realy does'nt want to the blade didn't harden after 2 attempts and the poll only slightly I think low 40's Its about as hard as an old normalised leaf spring I have lying around here. 

So some parameters. hammers and axe are made from ,the same stock of c45. I'm hardening in brine 4pounds of salt in 4gallons of watter and added some dishwasher. Heated to 1500-1550f° (I'm gaging temperature by collor so maybe the pieces where a bit hotter but not hugely so). Did not let it soak for 10-15minutes per inch of thickness though but never had any problems with that before.Quench by Plunging and agitating until it stops screming  then let the residual heat temper the piece to about straw and  try to keep it at that temp for a couple of minutes. Normalised the pieces before hardening (only do 1 normalising sycle for thicker stuff). Heated to 1500-1550f° (I'm gaging temperature by collor so maybe the pieces where a bit hotter but not hugely so). 

I was wondering If anyone had an explanation for this? note the axe took a lot of heats to finish could it be decarb? checked hardnes before and after removing some of the top material.

PS.

Sorry if I didn't pose the answer in the right topic and excuse me for any spelling mistakes English isn't my first language :p

Thanks in advance!  Nick