I Forge Iron

knife from 2235 - error prevention

Indianer

Hey guys- I wish to forge a knife, a buplicate of an icon weapon from a favorite game series.

With my propane tank forge I started drawing out a bar of 1.2235 (data sheet) I had laying around. It was far too broad (about double of what I needed), yet too short. The thickness was in the range.

I built a tentative makeshift device to help draw it out. An expansion tool for the railroad anvil I have. I goes well...ish.

First: What makes me worry though is that I already got 4-5 hours in drawing it out, and I´ll do it for another afternoon till the width is down to what I need for the blade. Is that very bad..? On the bright side, the piece is pretty straight and of uniform thickness as of yet...I am pleased with that.

Second, I am working a high-carbon alloy. I have seen Alec Steele forge metal that was well below glowing temp - he finished the shape of tips on a rod (here, from 3.20 onward, or 5.25 onward). Now my stock is much more massiv, and probably higher in carbon (0.8). Will it damage the metal if still work my stock at a temp of 1000-1100F? (my reference heat colour chart) It cools rather quickly, and it´s easy to drop the hammer once too often during cleanup after the "let´s draw it out some" part of a heat...much as I try not to do it.

Third: Thank you. For this, and anything else you can tell me on the project.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------