I Forge Iron

Anthricyte vs Bituminous Coal

archiphile

I am new to the forum, I have been a certified professional welder for the past ten years, but my smithing knowledge is religated to heating square stock with an O/A rig and twisting it.

My question is this, what would happen if I used Anthricyte Coal in place of Bit. Would this work for use in the forging process. My project is to manufacture some mortise chisels of various sizes. Would this type of coal leave any pit marks or any other impurities that I am not aware of? Any help would be greatfully received.

Thanks,

Archiphile

Anthracite has the highest carbon content and the fewest impurities of all the coals. For the most part its the oxygen that does the pitting. You have to work or brush the oxide off whatever it is your fuel is.

Classification and Rank of Coal . University of Kentucky
Coal
Anthracite
Bituminous coal

image copyright Kentucky Geological Society University of Kentucky, employed under the fair use provisions of the copyright law, for education purposes

5766.attach

in general it is harder to use: harder to light and generally requires a pretty constant air supply to keep it lit. It doesn't coke up and so you don't get the cave fires you can do with Bituminous.

It wouldn't be my fuel of choice to learn on and I would suggest real chunk charcoal over it if you are new to forging.

I have seen "top and bottom seam coal" it leaves a big coating of slag on the metal being heated. I suspect this is due to the silica in it depositing on the metal as the flame melts it and it rises.