I Forge Iron

Burner Evaluation Request

GrumpyBiker

Test fired my stainless mini mongo Burner for the first time today.

At 8psi I got this....

IMG_5401.JPG

IMG_5402.JPG

IMG_5403.JPG

IMG_5404.JPG

The first row of air inlets are completely blocked off.

When both were open it huffed constantly.

At 10psi I got this flame.

The stainless flair / tip got red hot real quick.

IMG_5405.JPG

IMG_5406.JPG

IMG_5407.JPG

IMG_5408.JPG

This is how far below the choke collar the tip is set.

The line is indicating the top of the collar position when I took the photos.

I've never used a burner before is this setup & positioning of the jet good to go?

anything thing look wrong or more importantly, dangerous?

IMG_5410.JPG

IMG_5412.JPG

I have a burner very similar to this one, and I found that burning in open air is vastly different than in the forge itself. Inside the forge there is back-pressure from the expanding gasses as they burn, which changes the fluid dynamics and thermodynamics of the gas mixing and combustion.

What I did:

*The best way I found to tune the amount air to let in was to light it up at evening/night, and let the inside of the forge get to temperature, adding or subtracting air as needed so it stays lit without huffing. 
*Then adjust the psi to get about the temperature you will be wanting to work at, takes time and getting used to it, just give it a try.
*Then adjust the air inlets to fine tune, judging the flame exiting the forge. There are plenty of pictures and videos of 'dragons breath' online.