I Forge Iron

New Forge Design

Hey guys,

This is my first post on this forum. First off, I want to say I'm not a complete newbie to forging, I have taken several classes on blacksmithing and knife making at Tillers International in Scotts, MI and have several books on knivemaking and blacksmithing. I built my first forge out of a tire rim fill with cement and that worked alright for a couple of years. However, I'm building a new forge and I could use some help with the design. I recently acquired a patio fireplace from the side of the road that had some kind of fire cement in it that I knocked out. I want to cut a hole for the firepot into it but my question is should I lay some brick down on top of the metal to have a more solid surface and what kind should I use? All hard brick or hard brick with soft brick surrounding the pot?

I also have looked around this forum and a couple others but couldn't really find a straight answer. Any and all suggestions are welcome!

Thanks,

Mike

P.S.- I'm a college student that usually just does this on the weekends and not a whole lot of money

1495591974405.jpg

1495591975381.jpg

What is it that you want to do with the forge?  (will you want to heat the middle of a 5' long piece of steel for ornamental work or architectural or cooking gear?)

What fuel are you using?  (Coal, Coke, Charcoal, Lignite, Wood?...

I would want the bed of the forge to slope down to the firepot so you can rake fuel in from the bed to the firepot.  How steep the slope depends on the fuel and proposed use.  How you make the bed could be---replace the cement you removed, infill with clay/adobe, use fire bricks & clay, etc

I mostly want to do knife work or small ornamental work. It will be a coal forge, I have a large amount of coal that I got from one of my dad's friends.

The pot was just placed on the piece to show what I had.

What kind of brick should I use?

Mike