I Forge Iron

Thought Introductions were in Order

L0RDR4G3

Hello fellow Metallurgists, Bladesmiths, Blacksmiths, Farriers, Artisans, Armourers, Hammer wielders and those who are Generally Eccentric.

I being of unsound body and Mind am a Long haired, bearded Scruffy Scotsman who has decided a couple of years ago to set up my own home forge and pound some steel

Yeah so I have been wasting away in a call centre job for the last 2 years and 9 (going on 10) months.

I was getting so annoyed at the way the populace in general has evolved into such a disposable throw away culture.

Plus my job brings me no joy whatsoever, I was always really good with my hands and have always felt this burning urge to create. 

the urge was un-specific in what to create just this need to create and make things (everything anything as long as it was made by my hand)

I thought long and hard about things I could do, and as I had some experience with working steel, I settled on Bladesmithing ( I mean who wouldn't want a hand forged Sword or battleaxe made by a scotsman)

So I set about gathering materials (at as little cost as possible) and learning and trying to get time to put it all together. 

(it has been a long...... slow......... annoying....... road so far having one thing after another happen and money having to be used else where and time to do my own thing being few and far between due to having a full time job that and other health stuff)

Currently I have a forge ( made from a 55 Galon Oil barrel Split length ways) a 50Kg anvil (bought from a mechanics supply store on ebay) A nice set of hand forged tongs (not by my hand :-( ) a few Hammers and  a bunch of scrap steel but have hit another wall that can only be solved with money and a bit more time. 

(2 months ago after managing to get a week of holidays from work and the weather not ruining 2 days of that week i managed to get the forge fired, but alas my forge requires some refractory materials to reach welding temperature)