I Forge Iron

Canister Damascus questions

Will W.

Hello everyone. 

I've recently acquired a few CV axles from a friend of mine, and while disassembling them for the steel, I came upon quite a few ball bearings, which I quickly snatched up (though I hadn't even considered them prior.) I am now wondering about mixing them with some other little pieces of high carbon steel and doing a canister Damascus knife. I've made Damascus before, but I have never tried this before, so I have a few questions, which I couldn't find answers for, after several hours of searching. I apologize if I overlooked something.

Every time I've seen canister Damascus being made, people use mild steel tubing, with ends welded on. Then they have to go through the trouble of keeping the tubing from sticking to the higher carbon steel inside, and having to peel off the mild can. Why not use high carbon steel and fabricate a tube out of that? And just forge weld it right to everything else? It seems like a good way to circumvent all the problems, in my head at least. I'm curious about how it would affect the final pattern as well. 

I know that grinder swarf is generally pretty contaminated stuff (lots of silicon carbide and aluminum oxide usually mixed in), but if I "filter" it (running a strong magnet by it multiple times) to remove anything but steel, would it be alright to use in the can? I also plan on using filings and the curly bits from around the drill press. I assume these are good to go, since both were made strictly by steel on steel contact.

Lastly, I understand that canister welding needs a good long soak to get everything inside the can up to temp, but I'm picturing actually doing it in my head, and I can't figure out a way to accurately tell when everything is ready. Anybody have a tip or two for telling when the internal steel is all up to temp?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.