I Forge Iron

best anvil for a beginner

I'm just getting started in blacksmithing, particularly knife making. I'm also 17 and limited to tools and funds. that being said, I cant afford actual nice anvils that are super expensive. also I know not to use the cheap cast iron ones. so what are my best options? would a section of railroad track work best for me? or I did find one steel anvil I can afford but its only 2o lbs. is that to small or would that be good? please no one jump on my case and respond like I'm stupid, I would just appreciate any friendly advice and input. thanks

I agree with you that a cheap new cast anvil is not particularly good but if you can buy one, it surely beats a railroad track. There only problem is that they are soft and will mark when you miss, so don't miss and hit the hot steel only. 

And I don't agree that you buy your first anvil for the rest of your life. I have 5 and will probably buy some more.

If you search this forum you will find hundreds of post that address your question, from forklift tines to vertical railroads, lumps of steel from the scrapyard and the occasional suggestion of a rock (dismiss as a joke of course) 

Most people get on the quest of buying an anvil and eventually find one after a more or less long time. And that is fine, but anvil is not all you need. You need a forge, a few hammers, tongs, safety gear, vice (s) punches, chisels etc. All achievable with little money if you have the time to look and ask around. 

Best of luck and let us know what you find :)

37 minutes ago, chaddey99 said: