I Forge Iron

Shutting down your forge for the day

LITTLEJOHN

Since I am new to the art my question is what is the best way to put out my fire at the end of the day after I am done forging.Sounds like a crazy question since most of the time we are interested in starting the fire.I have a small forge with a champion blower and want to save as much of the coke and coal as I can since good coal in Illiois is hard to find.Thank for any advice!

My smithery is located outdoors, so this may affect my reply. I tend to start tiding up during the last heats of the day; putting tools and materials away I know I won't need gain today. If I need to anneal something I'll put it in the fire and get it hot, cover in coals and remove blower and tidy everything away. If I'm not annealling I tend to shovel the burning coals into the slack tub; I use charcoal not mineral coal and this not only saves fuel (I am a poor student :D) but also makes sure it's well soaked for the next forgin session. Only my anvil and forge pot stay outside over night.

I pull the fire out of the forge and put ALL the used coal, coke, ash etc into a 5 gallon bucket of water. This cleans the fire pot for the next forge session, but more importantly, kills any fire and any hot embers. (I have had the fire still burning in the forge for 4-5 hours after the air was shut off and the forge closed down.)

The coke and coal can easily be separated from the water, leaving the ash and clinker behind. Just dry it out on a table or tarp outside in the sun.

I sleep very well at night knowing everything that was hot is under 2 inches of water.

I pull the good coke/coal over to the flat table of the forge and let it go out---big chunks sometimes need subdividing. Small stuff I dump out of the ash dump into a metal bucket of water. The coal forge is outside.