I Forge Iron

Anvil Restoration

I am new to black smithing and just purchased my first anvil.  It is a Peter Wright 101 that needs some work.  I have cleaned it with a wire brush and there are some large chips along the face edges.  I am not sure how to repair this and am looking for some advice.  Thanks!

We need pictures to be of any help. most of the time, newbies are over concerned, and the anvil doesn't need any repair at all. "repair" attempts  often ruin an anvil or don't help, at best. welding or grinding on an anvil is a bad idea except in specific cases in which it should only be done by an expert.  Pictures????

Welcome aboard Knifeguy, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the Iforge gang live within visiting distance.

If you'll post some pictures of your anvil we'll be able to give you better advice and suggestions. However lacking an eyeball scanning I can only offer my usual advice. NO! Don't try to repair or restore your anvil, it's almost certainly not necessary and more importantly more anvils have been ruined or irreparably damaged by "repairs." 

Chipped edges are pretty common on working anvils and no big deal, in fact sharp square edges aren't desirable, they cause cold shuts when shouldering and can't be used to fuller. However, there ARE occasions a smith needs a polished anvil face and crisp corners and edges but those are easy to provide with a drop in the hardy hole bottom tool like a swage, fuller or hardy.