I Forge Iron

Hello guys this is my first time ever writing a forum so go easy on me. However, after searching the internet for hours I cannot find a forum on my particular problem. I am running a homemade forge with a homemade fire pot and clinker breaker. Although I have burned bituminous before, it is hard to come by and I don't particularly care for how smoky and stinky it is! So after searching, I have found a local feed store that carries anthracite for a more than reasonable price of 5$ for 50lbs. I really like how hot and clean the anthracite burns and never seems to burn down as quickly as bituminous. However, I have a problem that occurs every time I run my Forge. It works beautifully for around an hour and I can easily reach welding heat, but after this first hour it is like a light switch is flipped. I can see a bunch of unburned, black coal at the bottom of my firepot and the fire cools down considerably. After about five minutes, my coal bed looks like checkered black and white. If I scoop the cold coal out of the center, there just seems to be more coal around cooling and falling down. I don't understand what the problem is seeing how well it works in the beginning of my fire. Apparently this isn't a common problem as i cant find a forum on it anywhere. It is very frustrating and is ruingin the forging experience for me. Anything would help, and thank you all.

Welcome aboard Tom, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the iforge gang live within visiting distance.

It's clinker sucking the life out of your fire. Hook it out and rebuild the fire, it'll make good heat again. The probable reason it's $5/50lbs. is it's got a % of shaley coal and or oil shale in it. The stuff burns okay for a while but not well enough to forge with and the mineral residue welds itself together as clinker.

Frosty The Lucky.