I Forge Iron

Need of some "old school" knowledge! - Sharpening bits

I'm a hobbyist machinist! I've been doing this afew years now. Normally I pick up older machines, rebuild them to the best of my ability and try to use them to their extend. Same goes for cutting tools ...ie drill bits. I get old drill bits (usually with a #2 or #3 MT shank) clean them up and try to sharpen them ...per my high school shop training (or what I remember of it). Seem to be semi successful on larger bits (over 3/4" dia.). But I have trouble with the smaller ones (especially below 1/2"dia.) ...primarily because I don't think I know how to deal with the smaller bits. SO can anybody point me to where I could get some info on how to hand grind these and reamer too (I just picked up a number of them too)?
YES I've tried "googling" ...but most of what I'm finding is "Drill Doctor" type machines. I'm looking for old school hand grinding techniques!! THX! ...Mark

I hand grind my drill bits, but do not know how to explain how to do it over the computer....

One of the most important items, outside of patience, precision and good lighting, is a simaltaneous rolling and changing the angle of the drill bit. This step is critical to get the clearance but comes only with practice.

As far as grinding a reamer I know of no way to hand grind a reamer. This is a certain path to ruining a reamer in my opinion.

With a small abrasive stone, for example a 1/4" X 1/4" X 6", you could "stone" the radial face of the cutting edge to get a fresh edge. DO NOT TOUCH the outside diameter of the reamer with the stone. Only the radial face of the cutting edge.