I Forge Iron

Anvils - Nimba vs Rathole

I'm getting interested in a heavy anvil and I'm looking at 450# Nimbas and 460# Ratholes. The Nimbas are cast from 8640 (which I only know for its use in gears) and the Ratholes are cast from H-13, which I know as a hot-work/die steel. I'm guessing the H-13 might hold up better to prolonged hot work, but probably splitting hairs there... Both are about the same price. Both seem to be dressed very well. I really like the look of the Rathole and I like that it has the upsetting block. Everyone raves about Nimbas and I don't hear much about Ratholes, but I suspect it's simple marketing because Rathole has done so little in terms of web visibility. They look good quality and I've heard a few good comments about them. Any opinions? Anyone have a Rathole?

I have no experience with either but have read positive reviews for both. It is my feeling that either will last a lifetime so I would go with which shape I thought would prove the most useful for the work I intended to do. There are a few others in that size range such as Refflinghaus. For most this would be a once in a lifetime purchase so I would make sure to get what I really wanted even if I had to save a litter longer to do so.

I have the big Rathole (Fontanini) and love it.  Part time professional use for 3 years now on it, when I use it I use it hard.  Also have a few friends with Nimbas of various sizes and they love theirs.  Only complaint about the Nimba design I've heard from them is the pritchel hole being actually in the horn is a little annoying.

Mine arrived dead flat, crazy bouncy, and so hard I had to use a carbide burr in a die grinder to ease the edges of the holes rather than a file.  It doesn't even dent with a missed blow from a big sledge or the overly hard Peddinghaus hammers that my son sometimes uses.  

The only downside is that it is mildly magnetic (not so much that I've bothered to do anything about it) and it rings like a bell.