I Forge Iron

Forklift Tine Anvil, Need Ideas!

I have recently acquired a set of fairly good sized forklift tines that I would like to make an anvil out of. They stand 4 feet tall, are 4 feet long, 7 inches wide and 1 3/4 inch thick. It took me a little effort and money to get these so I want to make sure I get the most anvil I can out of them.

I have seen many different examples here and elsewhere on the internet of forklift anvils. For those of you that have made them what is the most effective use and design? I am completely new to blacksmithing and am not sure exactly what I need in an anvil. I could obviously make one with a large face. But from what I have been reading in these forums I might be better off with a smaller face and more material underneath than vice versa. Also, I would like to have some of the material left over for other things so if I don't have to use all of it that's a plus.

What are everyone's thoughts? I'm itching to start cutting the things up but I want to do it the right way.

IMG_0044.JPG

Nice score Tim!! I'm sure Thomas Powers will see this and respond, he's made a number of anvils from forks so I'll let him pass on suggestions.

Just do NOT get in a hurry, what you have is gold and rushing things can leave you with oh, okay, I'll keep looking. <sigh>

Frosty The Lucky.

Here's a picture of the back side. I think I have seen some this size before on larger 10-15K forklifts and they are HEAVY. Each one probably weighs nearly as much as I do.

Before you 'chop them up' look up a forklift place and mail them a picture they might be worth their weight in anvil? :D

Wouldn't that be ironic? I buy some scrap forklift tines to make an anvil and turn around and sell them for enough $ to buy an anvil. lol   

But, I assume that since they are used and have some wear they are likely out of spec now and couldn't be re used. They're probably only worth their weight in scrap.

IMG_0045.JPG

Edited by TimberTim