I Forge Iron

First (completed) Knife

syfiguy99

Finally got around to posting it, here it is my first knife not perfect but i cut my self on it so it works. :D

I forged it from a rail road spike quenched it in motor oil and did detail work with belt sander and file.

IMG_5091 (1).JPG

My first knife was also a rail spike knife. 

I keep seeing this style of knife with the curved handle and have decided I must attempt one ( I am quite new to this stuff ) in the near future. 

But it looks good, Your next one will look better as Im sure you learned a few things making this one to make the next one easier. 

It looks pretty good. I have to ask why did you quench a railroad spike in motor oil? Rail spikes don't have enough carbon to make it worth it unless you mix up some superquench then it might work fine for a while. Motor oil shouldn't be used its nasty stuff, try veggie canola etc oil. It'll be much less bad for your health and it don't smell too bad either.

After reading M Cochran's I realize I must have been more tired then I thought I was last night. 

he makes a valid point, more healthy to use standard veggie oil then motor oil, even if its brand new motor oil..  

And with Veggie Oil, it smells like a french fry fryer.. 

OK I will try the veggie oil thank you for the constructive criticism :) reason i quinched the RR spike is one of the many sources on the internet said I should, should have checked around some more :D Thanks again

oil is a good bet on any tool steel in thin sections, but as spikr is low carbon/mild steel...

stay away from penut oil, you may not be alergic but some one else might, some folks so much that the burnt on residue or the smoke can efect them. Olive and canola (canola has a higher smoke point I belive) 

Edited by Charles R. Stevens