I Forge Iron

I knew I was right. It is a (Peter Wright)

There's a salvage yard near me that often has anvils & some other blacksmithing odds and ends for sale, needless to say the smaller anvils that can be lifted by the DFLs (down from London) and put into the back of their spotlessly clean BMW 4x4s sell for stupid money, but the bigger anvils the yard has go for a more sensible price because they're too big for Notting Hill gardens.

Ages ago I spotted this big mother smothered in thick black paint and thought it'd be nice to have an anvil that size one day and left it as pie in the sky. At the weekend I thought I'd go back and have another nosey about and saw it was still there. From the feet, chamfered hardy holes and relatively thin heel I guessed it could be a Peter Wright but I'm no anvil expert and the paint was too redicliously thick to see any markings through. Remember the old paint is what sells these things to most people so I daren't pick at it (too much without being seen).

This salvage yard just so happens to be en route back from the blasting and zinc flame spraying firm I use and today I took a gate along for treating...and then thought well I could use a little treating too. £280 delivered. After a light dusting with a wire wheel on the grinder enough paint was cleaned off enough to read some faded Peter Wright marks and 3 - 2 - 23. In new money I make that 188 kg, 415 lbs. Minimal deformation of the face and generally decent edges. Table = 5, 1/2 wide, heel to tip of the bick = 3 feet.

The pic of my exisiting 1, 1/2 CWT Brookes anvil on top of the new Peter Wright doesn't even do the size difference justice. The real clincher for me was that the hardy holes are nearly exactly the same size as the hardy hole on my Brookes anvil so I'll be able to use all the hardy tools I've already made to fit my Brookes anvil in the new Peter Wright with just minimal tweaking. Joking aside I think this will be a great asset, not just an indulgence.