I Forge Iron

Smithing Building Size ?

oscer

Hi folks I've been chiming here off and on with a question or two and am still dragging my feet on buying a forge, I did get a clapped out Peter Wright 1-0-6 anvil and a pretty good leg vise and have been doing occasional bending projects and even a successful tempering (I think it was successful) job with my torch.
The thing is I'm a machine operator and have a small machine shop that is sharing space in my tractor shed, I really don't like the Idea pf putting all of my eggs in one basket and then having an open coal fire or even a propane torch working in there.
So I'm thinking of putting a small tin shanty smithy a short distance away with the bare minimal of tools and keep all of my other tooling in the tractor shed. I'm thinking anvil, vise forge and on opposite wall my mig welder a welding bench and the torch. Any advise or suggestions are appreciated, oscer

How large do you expect the blacksmithing to grow? Always a weekend hobby, or do you expect some large or larger projects, or maybe make items for sale, or have it turn into a business?

Usually a good answer on size is build it as large as you can imagine your needs, then a bit more. Now double that number.

How large do you expect the blacksmithing to grow? Always a weekend hobby, or do you expect some large or larger projects, or maybe make items for sale, or have it turn into a business?

Usually a good answer on size is build it as large as you can imagine your needs, then a bit more. Now double that number.

My thoughts too Glenn,I have my woodworking tools in an attached garage with no way to go bigger. The tractor shed is also maxed out and in addition to the smithy I would like to build a building for the tractor and garden tools, which would give a lot more room in the machine shop. My main concern is to isolate the hot tools from everything else.You are right though I've never hear anyone say " I wish I would have made my building smaller".