I Forge Iron

Anvil brands, any ranking to quality /favorites

Hi I'm new here and just starting out [so please take it easy on me]

I've been seeing some makers like peter wright , Hay -budden , Fisher & Norris, Kohlswa ,trenton ,Emerson.... etc... Have commanded higher prices .

Is one maker supperior to others ? How would they rank in order of worth?

Also since I'm just starting would ther be a "good value" maker to look for

I'm in N.Y [Long Island] and I'm sure there must be some good resources witin a 100 mile radius

Thanks for any help

What he said :) I'm fairly new to this so I can only speak of a handfull that I've used. My rank would be Hay Budden, Peter Wright/Fisher, mousehole/arm and hammer, vulcan. the slashes are brands I would consider to be even. But that is my limited experience also on a very small selection of anvils. Just like anything else you're asking for peoples opinions and opinions are like a belly-button, everybody has one (nice version).

Personally I REALLY like the way the Hay Budden works steel, but its also the anvil I have the most hammer time on (which isn't saying much). Timothy is a MUCH better resource to listen to. But thats my .02 :D

A lot has to do with the condtion of any given anvil. A 200# Peter Wright with a broken face, heel, horn, etc is worth a lot less than a 100# Acme in good shape. Yeah, maybe when these anvils were new, the names meant a lot more. However, today, individual quality, IMHO, is the key factor.

ok no one yell at me but i have really enjoyed working on fisher anvils they have good rebound and are fairly quite i have owned a 80lb a 120ish and a 150lb fisher and i like the shape of the horn and in general they have served me well admittedly my current one has disintegrating feet but once i get some free time and a good deal on some welding rod i am planing on flipping him upside down and doing some reconstruction