I Forge Iron

Mild Steel Source

I'm new to blacksmithing. Done a basics course and a tool making course.
Just wondering what would be a good source of mild steel that I could get my hands on?
Or alternatively how much could I be paying for stock?

I've got some springs and a truck leaf spring for my tools steel, to make tools out of.
However when i've got some tools made, I already have a few requests of things that people want making. (Thanks Mum).

Would like some mild steel to make a few items out of. Just trying to gather some information on possible sources for mild steel.
The more of it I can get hold of, the more I can practice!

Thanks in advance.
Tom

Sounds like you have a solid foundation to build your skills upon.

Across the pond in the US, most hardware stores stock varying sizes of mild steel. A few that come to mind are Fleet Farm, Farm & Fleet, Menards, ACE, and Home Depot.

Having never visited the UK, I'm not sure of what stores you would have.

Junk yards are also a smith's treasure trove, but you can't really be sure of the composition of the steels you find there, unless it's a recognizable item, such as leaf/coil springs, etc. Be careful with junkyard steels.

Hi Tom,

Make sure you know what sizes you want first if you have specific items to make,

Look in your yellow pages, (or Yell online) for steel stockholders, or go around your local business parks looking for small engineering/fabrication companies who will often have scrap bits that are usable, or will sell you small amounts.

Hook up with a local smith and visit, see if they can help with supplying you what you need. or ask them where they get theirs from.

Here the steel that the big box stores sell is quite expensive compared to a "real" steel source---as in they want almost as much for a 4' piece as a real place wants for 20'!