I Forge Iron

Need ideas for R&R rail anvil unlimited rail!!

I have seen about everything on the net (including here) as far as railroad anvils go. I have sure seen some dandies too, but how would you guys that have experience already tell a newb to build an anvil if I had lots of Rail to use?

I have access to about 100' of rail and an old Lincoln arc welder, but sadly no torches. Torches I may be able to borrow if I check with the extended family, but don't have my own.

Pictures or diagrams of course are great, but description would be fine. I'm just a newb that wants to build a nice anvil with what he has available- LOTS of RAIL!

So please feel free to frivolously use up my steel and help me design/build an anvil. Thanks!

Robar

Scrap most of it and take the $$ and buy a real anvil???

If I could get enough out of it I may have considered it, however the best anvil deal I have been able to find was a 150# peter wright for $350.00 Considering I'm paying a buck a foot or 3.00 for every hundred pounds and scrap is 187.00 a ton I can't even get close. the whole works is worth about 260.00ish, but would cost me 116.00 while a profit could be made its a far cry from buying an anvil I'm afraid...

Put a good length on a stump to give you the biggest face you can get. Put another piece end up and buried in the ground so you can hammer on the end. Use them like that till you find another you can afford and is better. I know lots of people who never have a "real" anvil and manage to use rail for most things. Don't over think the problem!

ROBAR, Don't just give up. A track standing up gives more mass. However atleast a few of us like it to look like a anvil. You will need a torch not a welder. It will require a lot of time and sweat to make a looker. Anvil shaped base, tapered heel. hardy and pritchel holes, table and round horn. Probably 50 hrs for an anvil only good for small items. If you wish to try it PM me for more info.
Ken

• 3 weeks later...