I Forge Iron

Should I buy it?

Hey guys I am new here and I was wondering if anyone could identify this anvil from a pic. It looks well used with a slight slump in the middle you can see it in the photo. Its 220 lbs and the people are asking 250 bucks obo should I risk it? I know its a forging anvil because the mass is in the center and its what I am looking for. I am a beginner and im still tooling up and not forging much because this is the one thing I dont have yet anvils seem to be very very hard to find in Maine.

16987.attach

if your just starting out, (depending on budget) there is alternatives
could go to Harbor Freight if there is one around your area and buy this HF Anvil

or take a trip to your local scrap yard and get a peace of steel to beat on if your unshure if you plan to do much with this craft. i payed $14 for my 31 pund squire chunk and its doing allright

My first anvil wasn't that big....shoot, my everyday anvil isn't that big!!:) Buy it if you can....personnally I would offer a little less, just for the fun of it, the worst they can say is no! Just don't insult them with too low of an offer. You might be pleasantly surprised. As for the HF anvil, just send me the $$$, it'll do you just about as much good. PM me for my address!;) Good luck, hope you can get it.
If you will update your profile by giving your location it will help us help you in locating more of the MUCH NEEDED toy...er I mean TOOLS. Just click on "User CP" up in the green bar, yeah, at the top of the page. There are likely smiths in your area I'm sure and we can also let you know of blacksmithing events that may be close to you. Good to have you aboard, enjoy!