I Forge Iron

Blower Question

Dano50

Here's a question from a complete beginner. I built a brake drum forge (11 inch diameter pot, 4 inches deep) over the weekend, had the pot for about a year, just got the black iron 2 inch pipe sections.

Wife gave me an old hairblower to use as an air source. I diligently took the thing apart and cut off the heating element...guess what, not working, go figure.

How does one modify a hair blower to use in a brake drum forge? Do you remove the heating element or just leave as is until it melts? Your thoughts, your thoughts and suggestions!

Possibly looking at other sources for air (vacuum cleaners, other blower sources), this one just seemed so convenient with minimum set up. (i.e, I've looked through a couple other threads regarding blowers, squirrel cage type, waterheater, leaf blowers, etc).

Thanks

• 1 month later...
Dan, I recently started using a blower fan from an old clothes dryer and I can't be happier with it. It is powerful and quiet.

I have a question related to this.

I'm currently using a pot forge with an old hair dryer as my blower. The hair dryer just plain isn't moving enough air, and read on here (and Anvilfire) that the fan unit out of an old dryer will work quite well.

My question is: obviously an old clothes dryer will have a motor to run the fan, but typically these motors are 220V motors. I only have 110V available to me as an outside outlet on my house (my silly wife won't let me run the forge in the basement where our 220V line is).

what do I need to do (that won't cost me anything) to run a 220V motor on a 110V line?

David
======
David Stous
Chief Maille Smith
Wolf's Den Armoury
Wolf's Den Armoury -- Fine chainmaille since 1995