I Forge Iron

Stock rack integrated into wall

I have a fairly unique opportunity with the construction of this new smithy. I have been thinking about stock racks and I think I know what I want to do.

I am a hobbyist, do not expect to have a ridiculous amount of steel. I kept thinking of ways to attach the stock rack to the wall, when I realized: I don't have a wall yet, build it right in!

So, along the 19 foot wall, I am thinking every 3 feet, I would have a double stud (two 2x4 long faces together) turned the opposite direction to the regular studs, flush with the inside wall. From four foot up to the top there would be holes drilled through all but 1/4 of an inch of this doubled 2x4. These holes would be like 3 inches apart.

Now put the drywall up.

Find the holes, punch through.

Put some facing board to cover the fragile drywall with the same hole pattern.

Now, wherever I need a stock rack, I put tubing directly into the wall. They will be laid out on a grid pattern all over the back wall. If I keep the tubing short the weight will stay near the wall and not act as a lever to pull it inward.

With all these extra studs, the weight of the material will not really matter. By keeping the tubing shelves short, the leverage will not matter. I should be able to have lots of short shelves.

If I the uprights are too far apart, I would be able to add a shelf between two tubes pretty easy.

Attached is a 5 minute mockup. Simply nailing this to the wall, poorly, it was able to support 110lbs without issue or tearing away from the wall.

Thoughts?

How closely spaced are your stock rack arms, horizontally and vertically?

15114.attach

Stock comes in 20 foot lengths (locally). Cut in half you would need a 10+ foot high wall to utilize the space between the studs for stock storage.